Le Halcyon

Halcyon

 

(hal-see-uh n)

 

Meaning: Denoting a period of time in the past that was idyllically happy and peaceful. A mythical bird said by ancient writers to breed in a nest floating at sea at the winter solstice, charming the wind and waves into calm.

 

Believe it or not, I started this blog almost a year ago. I remember it took me a whole week to come up with a name because I wanted something that would make me smile every time I heard it. It was a time in my life I didn’t have a lot of peace. I had just started my service year, and was working at a place that I absolutely loathed. I would wake up every day feeling twice as heavy as my actual weight, and very reluctant to go to work. The place was robbing me of my sanity.

 

Anyway, back on course. I decided to start this blog, I think in January of 2016. I googled synonyms of calm and peace and after a lot of searching, I found the word Halcyon. I had never ever heard of this word- I initially thought it wasn’t even an English word. I found this on its history:

 

“According to Greek mythology, Alkyone, the daughter of the god of the winds, became so distraught when she learned that her husband had been killed in a shipwreck that she threw herself into the sea and was changed into a kingfisher. As a result, ancient Greeks called such birds’ alkyon or halkyon. 

 

The legend also says that such birds built floating nests on the sea, where they so charmed the wind god that he created a period of unusual calm that lasted until the birds’ eggs hatched. This legend prompted people to use halcyon both as a noun naming a genus of kingfisher and as an adjective meaning either “of or relating to the kingfisher or its nesting period” or calm.”

 

Nice little story, right? When used as an adjective, Halcyon basically translates to a feeling of calm or tranquility. The ‘Le’ is thrown in there, just because I’m boujee. Lol I joke.

 

My name is Tolu. I am a writer. I like to write fiction mostly, which is what you will probably see more of here. I might write about myself sometimes, my life makes for very good story- telling.

 

Welcome. Stay. Read. Share. Come back.

 

Leave a Reply

